I need to ask you something . . .

I ate  Ben and Jerry’s for dinner last night.( I know this doesn’t have anything to do with  baking ) But it has to do with a very important issue I must address before we go any further together.

I got ice cream, not the frozen yogurt kind, which made me question everything and why I ever  bother with that. I ordered it in a cone, with  rainbow sprinkles. I ate it in my car on the drive home, and it was amazing. It blew my earlier baking extravaganza out of the water..  I entered my bathroom to brush my teeth as I looked up there was this chocolate covered face. I was shocked, how could have I done this so cluelessly? I was a mess. no joke.

I came to the practical conclusion, this is why I normally get cups.  It seems like as an adult I make these practical choices without even thinking what I actually want. I really want a cone ,but cones are for kids and cones get your face sticky.

So my question to YOU is what did you choose as a kid? I know it’s silly and not real , and it probably makes your clothes sticky or your face chocolate-y. But give it a shot .Do it anyway. Just for today.

It’s what you  really want to do anyway.

On this note,  I give you my newest healthy indulgence for all you outdoors. Take these on the trail with you go play in the woods, like you used to do .

Laura’s (Gluten Free) Walking Bars . 

1 tablespoon coconut oil (or regular butter)

1 cup pecans

chopped
1 cup walnuts

(unsweetened) shredded coconut

1/4 cups rolled oats
1

1/2 cups unsweetened crisp brown rice cereal

cup brown rice syrup

½ cup of almond butter

1/4 cup natural cane sugar

1/2 teaspoon fine-grain sea salt

2 tablespoons ground espresso beans

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Pre-heat oven to 350*. Grease pan with coconut oil. Depending on desired thickness of the bars . 8′ by 8′ or 9′ by 13′ inch pan. I vote for 8′ by 8′ .

On a rimmed baking sheet toast the coconut, walnuts and pecans for about 7 minutes until coconut is golden. In a bowl mix toasted nuts and coconut with cereal and oats set aside.

Combine rice syrup, sugar, salt , espresso, almond butter and vanilla in a small sauce pan over medium heat and stir constantly as it comes to a boil and thickens, about 4 minutes. Pour mixture over dry ingredients and stir.

Spread into prepared pan and let cool to room temp. Cut into desired size. I wrapped mine up in parchment paper. Throw in your back pack and you’re off !

Leave a Reply

